Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 7 made on Tuesday August 23, 2016 at 07:51
BigPapa
October 2005
On August 22, 2016 at 22:14, cgav said...
I've been doing lighting control and lutron for over 10 years now. I still have brain farts every time I go to program scenes. Customers have no idea what they want and it's up to me to make something usable until they figure out what they want.

What do you guys program as your scenes when your sales department sells way too many keypads? Like 20 in a 4 bedroom home. I'm not even joking.

Customers don't have any idea of what they want, they look to us to figure it out for them. While 20 keypads in a 4 bedroom home may seem like a lot (I don't think so), one thing I think we do is put too many scene buttons in those keypads. And mix up scene and load based programming. Then we hang pieces of paper on the wall and say 'Live with it a few months then we can come back and tweak it to the way you want.' Ugh.

I don't think people hire us to put buttons on walls and have them tell us how to program it, they hire us to make things simpler for them.

One thing that is confusing is mixing scene based and load based programming, unless of course a single load illuminates a room (eg: downlights down a hallway). Then mixing toggles and All Off's everywhere, which is sort of redundant.

Room
Adjacent Room
Load
Load
Load
Fan
All Off

Or the infamous There's a Button There So Program It With Something Logic, my personal favorite:

Hi - 99%'er Button
Medium - 1% of the time
Low - WTF?
Next Room - The Only Sensible Button
Load - Pick Me
Load - I Guess This One Too
All Off - Is this Room All Off or House All Off? Huh?

It's easy to program buttons. It's hard to make it super intuitive with the least amount of buttons necessary.

Kitchen
Dining
Hallway
Fans